If you’ve ever had to file a lawsuit or deal with unemployment, you know how important deadlines are. If you don’t file for unemployment on time, you could end up waiting weeks to get your first check. If you don’t file your car accident insurance claim, it could be denied. The same thing is true when it comes to workers compensation. Our Greenville workers compensation lawyers always remind our clients about the importance of timing.
If you get hurt at work, there are certain things you need to do right away. First, you need to report your injury to your employer. If you don’t do this in time, you could lose your chance of receiving workers comp benefits. The same is true for your appeal. If your personal injury attorney in Greenville doesn’t file your workers compensation appeal in time, you could walk away with nothing.
If you’ve recently suffered a workplace injury and are unclear about what to do next, it’s okay. That’s when it’s time to call one of our personal injury attorneys in Greenville, North Carolina. We’ll sit down and explain how the workers comp process works. We will also discuss the important filing deadlines. The worst-case situation is that you miss the filing dealing and walk away without benefits.
Here, we’ll talk about the various filing deadlines you must meet if you file a workers compensation claim. We’ll also discuss what happens if you miss a deadline. If you have questions or concerns about your workplace accident case, contact our office. We’ll schedule your free, initial consultation right away.
Make Sure You Report Your Injury to Your Employer Immediately
We often have to remind our potential clients to report their injury right away. While the state of North Carolina gives you two years to file your claim, your employer may feel differently. On top of this, you don’t want your case to go stale. The longer you wait to file your claim, the longer it will take to receive benefits.
Our Greenville workers compensation lawyers have seen many workplace accident victims wait too long to report their injury. Some of the problems you may encounter include:
- It will be difficult to prove your injuries were caused your workplace accident.
- It’s not safe to wait this long without receiving medical treatment. Your health is the most important thing.
- If you receive treatment before you report your injury, it won’t be covered by workers compensation.
- Your employer could close their doors before the 2 years are up.
If your injuries are serious, it could take longer to report your accident. For example, if you’re in the hospital, you won’t be able to get in touch with your employer. You can certainly wait until you’ve recovered before reporting your accident.
You want to remember that, if you don’t file your claim within the 2-year statute of limitations period, your claim will be dismissed. You’ll also lose the chance pursue benefits. This means you’ll walk away with nothing
Do Not Wait to Seek Medical Treatment
It’s important to seek medical care immediately. Under North Carolina law, your medical care will not be covered if you were treated by anyone other than a state-approved workers compensation doctor. Any treatment you received from your personal doctor will not be covered.
This may not seem fair. However, the State of North Carolina has certified certain doctors as qualified to handle workers compensation cases. Your employer will either assign a state-approved doctor to your case or you’ll get to choose from a short list.
Another reason is that your employer has a legal right to be privy to your medical treatment. They are paying your medical bills, so they have a right to receive regular updates.
The only time you would really want to see a doctor who isn’t on the approved list is when you need a second opinion. For example, if your workers compensation doctor says that you can go back to work before you’re ready, your Greenville workers compensation lawyer can request a second opinion.
You Only Have 14 Days to File Your Workers Comp Appeal
If your workers comp claim is denied, you do have to option of filing an appeal. Your Greenville workers compensation lawyer will have fourteen days to file your appeal. The fourteen days starts on the day you receive your notice of denial.
If you don’t file your appeal in time, you’ll lose your chance to receive workers benefits through the state’s workers comp program. Instead, your personal injury attorney in Greenville, North Carolina will have to file suit on your behalf.
Once this happens, the insurance company may be more willing to entertain a settlement of your claim.
Our Greenville Workers Compensation Lawyers Ensure Your Claim is Filed in a Timely Fashion
When it comes to workers compensation, the filing deadlines are extremely important. You need to report your claim on time and make sure you seek medical treatment immediately. You should also contact an experienced personal injury attorney in Greenville, North Carolina right away.
If you’re afraid that you’ll lose your benefits because you missed the filing dealing, call our office immediately. There may be a small window of opportunity in which your Greenville workers compensation lawyer can refile the claim and get the insurance company to review it.
Your attorney will also make sure the insurance company has all the information you provided. If they refuse to pay your claim, your lawyer will try to negotiate payment of your claim. Worst case, they’ll file a lawsuit on your behalf.
Call our office today and schedule your free, initial consultation. Since you don’t pay anything upfront, you have nothing to lose. Your employer will have a team of lawyers working for them and you should too. If the insurance company thinks you’re handling the case yourself, they may try to take advantage of you.